Mar. 2nd, 2005

ralphmelton: (Default)
Today, I was reading this article on the grappling rules in D&D.

I spotted a discrepancy with my understanding of the rules. The article says that when you start a grapple successfully, you do damage as with an unarmed strike. I had thought that you didn't do damage until your next turn.

So I checked the Player's Handbook to make sure.
The Player's Handbook agrees with the article about this. It's quite clear and unambiguous.
The 3.5 SRD does as well. So does the 3.0 SRD and the 3.0 Player's Handbook.

I had never noticed this in three and a half years of playing.
Neither had Kevin, who wrestled with the grapple rules for a while.
Neither had Mike.
Neither had Mike's friend John, who has also struggled with the grapple rules for their campaign.

This is the sort of thing that makes me suspect (not seriously, but enough to wonder) that the past has been changed by time travel or merging parallel timelines, and this discrepancy between memory and records is one of the little glitches that arise when the seams in reality don't quite match up.

Profile

ralphmelton: (Default)
ralphmelton

April 2018

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
151617181920 21
22232425262728
2930     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Aug. 30th, 2025 05:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios